AC, Aristotelis advice

Aristotelis’ racing school III (!)

Alternative title: “Bump. Brake. Stupid!”.

I always had the opinion that Kunos’ physics guru Aristotelis has a special gift to educate about anything regarding racing. There’s a category in this blog, trying to summarize his rare posts and I’m even drawing the whole maybe-AC2-wishlist topic under the headline “Aristotelis’ racing school”. Yes, I’m a fan here, and today Aris made his fans very happy:

According to his own description, this is a really basic approach without fancy stuff. I was still enjoying his first lesson. If you can spare 41mins, this is highly recommended. If you just want the essence, start at 7:55 and watch until you are bored.

First, let me have a short feedback of the goods and bads. I think the latter are very important, because I really hope this lifts of and Aristotelis has the chance to learn and improve in little time.

#1 The bad

The introduction is comparably bad in two ways. First, Aris needed some warm up until he could talk himself into the storyteller mode. Maybe this was some confusion or even tension doing a record, but you clearly notice how everything drops off him when he starts the first fast lap at 6:21. Starting with the first replay session, he seems way too busy sharing his knowledge to even notice. The connection between his confidence and the tyre’s temperatures is enchanting.

Then the first minutes might be the most sensitive point to either win or lose audience. Aris-fans like me, or most of the AC forum regulars won’t be bothered because we already expect this is going to be cool and will continue. But newcomers, casuals might turn off here.

My suggestion is artificially raise the speed in the beginning. Just like modern TV series or even movies do it: Instant action, then the intro. I think it suits Aris’ style to start inside the heat and then catch up and will help him to get people excited.

Last, the whole thing might be too long. Not a problem for myself, but I can imagine that 26:03 would have been a perfect end. It was the point where he talked about the “you don’t lose your time in one single corner, but in every single corner”. The 2-psi-on-the-right demonstration could have been an impressive and standalone second lesson.

In a last point I didn’t like how much revs he gave this little 235i. You shift before the lights start blinking, Sir Mr. physics guru.

#2 The good

  • The level of content is very well chosen. You can easily fall into the trap to be too comprehensive and basic. No 1.5 hour physics lesson, but hands on driving with focus on a few but significant details
  • Surprisingly good track choice
  • One shot. During the first minutes I was sure I will comment “please prepare material and comment/cut it later with some instant slow-motion replays and arrows”. But 41 minutes live driving and constantly proving what he’s preaching, so much authenticy and credibility
  • Speaking of authenticy: That charming italianglish comments about his fails, but also the proud and almost childish “wow look at that apex” moments. This is how put theory on the table, but still entertain!
  • Script. I’m sure there wasn’t any, but at least since the first replay there is a storyline that you can easily follow, and it makes sense
  • Starting at 7:55 (1st replay), there is impressive information and wisdom per time. I needed to hear it twice to realize
  • I didn’t know about the bump as reference point

—-

Really liked it, but I’m more curious about reactions of the target audience. Personally I’m 100% confident that Aristotelis is very likely to teach anybody to drive fast and more important have fun during the process.

I’m watching this especially close because I’m still hoping that Kunos will utilize this potential USP for a given successor of AC1. But even if not: Aris, keep on and may the force be with you!

Leave a Reply

